<acronym id="msemq"><center id="msemq"></center></acronym>
<rt id="msemq"><optgroup id="msemq"></optgroup></rt>
<acronym id="msemq"><small id="msemq"></small></acronym>
<sup id="msemq"><div id="msemq"></div></sup>
<sup id="msemq"></sup> <sup id="msemq"><div id="msemq"></div></sup>

In The Press

Laws to amalgamate Port City to Colombo


Parliament yesterday passed a resolution to provide for laws to amalgamate the reclaimed land of Colombo Port city by the Colombo Divisional Secretary’s division.

The Resolution under the Administrative Districts Act was presented by Minister of Internal and Home Affairs and Provincial Councils and Local Government Vajira Abeywardena.

According to the Resolution, the land of Port City Colombo in extent of 446.6153 hectares will be annexed to the Divisional Secretary’s Division of Colombo in the Administrative District of Colombo. As per the plan prepared by the Surveyor General the Colombo Port and Chaithya Road East will be a connecting point to the boundary of the Colombo Divisional Secretary’s Division.

The newly reclaimed land’s connection point would be the western boundary of the Colombo Divisional Secretary’s Division and its east coordinate would be 396913.476 from the northern connection point and 397077.037 from the southern connection point while its north coordinate would be 492847.74 from the northern connection point and 492290.222 from the southern connection point according to the Sri Lanka Grid 1999 reference coordinate system, according to the schedule of the resolution.

Participating in the debate, Non-Cabinet Minister Dr. Harsha de Silva said that the block would have a ‘sovereign right.’